Friday, January 14, 2011

Municipal Hall of Pila, Laguna

Historic Town of Pila, Laguna

The Historic Town of Pila, Laguna is a National Historical Landmark. Above is a photo of the old Pila Town Hall. Below is a photo of the Pila Church or the Diocesan Shrine of San Antonio de Padua.


WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Philippines provides that The State shall promote and popularize the nation’s historical and cultural heritage and resources;

WHEREAS, Presidential Decree No. 260, dated August 1, 1973, specifically vested the National Historical Institute with the power to declare sites and structures as national historical landmarks;

WHEREAS, the town of Pila, an early pre-Hispanic center of culture and trade in Laguna, has been recognized as one of the country's more important archeological sites where clay potteries were discovered in excavations made in Pinagbayanan ni 1967;

WHEREAS, the town of Pila was honored with the name of La Noble Villa de Pila by the Spaniards because of the genteel customs, refined manners and traditions of its people;

WHEREAS, Pila is one of the few existing towns in the Philippines that preserves the Spanish colonial town planning system of the Indies, where the center of the town was the plaza complex with the surrounding church, tribunal, school and large houses;

WHEREAS, the structures of Pila reflect a rich and varied architectural history which remains relatively intact in its town center, from the Philippine-Baroque church of the Spanish period to the charming chalets of the American period;

WHEREAS, the town center of Pila is a living monument and testimony to the residents of Pila who were builders, craftsmen, artists and artisans of such elegant, historic structures;

NOW THEREFORE, the National Historical Institute by the virtue of the powers vested in it by Presidential Decree No. 260, hereby declares the historic town center of Pila in Laguna, bounded by General Luna Street in the north, M. H. del Pilar Street in the east, Mabini Street in the south, and Bonifacio Street in the west, and including the Pila Elementary School, and the Juan Fuentes and Santiago Fernandez houses as a National Historical Landmark.

APPROVED: May 17, 2000

Pakil Church (Pakil, Laguna)

The Pakil Church or the San Pedro de Alcantara Church in Pakil, Laguna houses the Nuestra Senora de los Dolores de Turumba. The first church made of bamboo and nipa was built in 1676 when Pakil was separated from Paete. Construction for the current stone church and convent began in 1732 and was completed in 1737. The Virgin of Turumba was enshrined in the church in 1788. Parts of the church were destroyed during the fires of 1739 and 1851, and the earthquakes of 1881 and 1937.

Paete Church (Paete, Laguna)

The Paete Church in Paete, Laguna is a National Historical Landmark.

Lumban Church (Lumban, Laguna)

The Lumban Church or San Sebastian Church is located in Lumban, Laguna.

Longos Church (Kalayaan, Laguna)

The Longos Church is located in Brgy. Longos, Kalayaan, Laguna.

Historic Town of Taal, Batangas

The Historic Town of Taal, Batangas was declared a National Historical Landmark by the National Historical Institute. Within the town are several other National Historical Landmarks including the Leon Apacible Historical Landmark, Marcela Agoncillo Historical Landmark and Taal Church Historical Landmark (Taal Basilica). The Goco House is declared a Heritage House.

Goco House (Taal, Batangas)

The Goco House in Taal, Batangas was declared a Heritage House by the National Historical Institute.

Caysasay Church (Taal, Batangas)

The Caysasay Church or Shrine of Our Lady of Caysasay is one of two historical churches in Taal, Batangas. The town of Taal is a National Historical Landmark.

Taal Basilica (Taal, Batangas)

The Taal Basilica or the Minor Basilica of St. Martin of Tours in Taal, Batangas is a National Historical Landmark.

Masinloc Church (Masinloc, Zambales)

The Masinloc Church or San Andres Church in Masinloc, Zambales was constructed by the Augustinian Recollects in the 18th century and was completed in the 19th century. The choir loft features a carved polychrome portal. It is a National Cultural Treasure.

Monday, January 03, 2011

Magellan's Cross (Cebu City)

Carcar Dispensary > Carcar Museum (Carcar Cebu)

Carcar Church (Carcar, Cebu)

Mercado Mansion (Carcar, Cebu)

The Mercado Mansion belonged to Don Mariano Mercado, a former mayor of Carcar. It was was inherited by Catalina Mercado, who married Santiago Lucero, judge and later member of the Third Congress. It was declared a Heritage House by the National Historical Institute in 2010.

Silva House (Carcar, Cebu)

The Silva House originally belonged to a priest who was assigned in Carcar for a long time. Ownership was transferred to Dr. Nemesio S. Silva. It was declared a Heritage House by the National Historical Institute in 2010.

Tanza Church (Tanza, Cavite)

Tanza Church in Tanza, Cavite played a significant role in Philippine history. It was where Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo and Gen. Mariano Trias took their oaths as president and vice president of the Philippine Revolutionary Government on March 23, 1897 after their election at the Tejeros Convention the day before.

Silang Church (Silang, Cavite)

Silang Church is an example of a colonial church with rococo altars. Silang was established as a parish by the Franciscans on February 3, 1595. The first church got burned on August 30, 1603. A new church was constructed by the Franciscans under the patronage of San Diego de Alcala. In 1611, the parish was transferred to the Jesuits. A stone church was constructed by Fr. Juan de Salazar, S.J. from 1637 to 1639 and dedicated to the Nuestra Senora de Candelaria. It was transferred to the care of secular priests in 1788 after the expulsion of the Jesuits from the Philippines.On March 9, 1849, the parish was transferred to the Augustinian Recollects. It was again transferred to the care of secular priests in 1868. From September 5 to 6, 1896, it served as headquarters and refuge of the Guardia Civil after Filipino forces led by Gen. Vito Belarmino took over Naic.

In 1910, the church was administered by the Congregation of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (CICM), secular priests in 1913, Columbans in 1936, and again by secular priests in 1978 until the present.

Naic Church (Naic, Cavite)

The Naic Church or Immaculate Conception Church is located in Naic, Cavite.

Bonifacio Execution Site (Maragondon, Cavite)

A monument was built in the execution site of Andres Bonifacio and Procopio Bonifacio in Mount Nagpatong, Maragondon, Cavite.